My Car Lender

Home / News / F1: Prize Money only for Top 10 Teams of the Year


Formula One’s head honcho, Bernie Ecclestone, has announced that only the top teams at the end of the season will receive prize money. This is a departure from the practice of 2010, 2011, and 2012 during which the 11th and 12th placed teams also received prize moneys.

Talking about the change, Ecclestone said, “For three years we did something different because we had an agreement with (former FIA president) Max (Mosley) but from now on we will pay the top 10 and that’s it.”

The reducing of the number of prize money recipients will not impact many teams since there are only 11 teams in total. Last year, Spanish-based HRT folded.


About the author: Andrew Greene


Now playing the role of grumpy old man in the foothills of Northern California’s Gold Country, Andrew has had a life-long love affair with vehicles of all sorts, from the bicycle he pedaled across the continent in 1991 to the armored personnel carriers he drove in the Army to the bamboo rafts, elephants, motorcycle taxis, ferries and buses he traveled by during the 13 years he lived and worked in South East Asia. Always eager to learn more about how the people of the world get from here to there in their day-today lives, he, a professional journalist, has been covering the vehicle industry for years.


Recent posts in News


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *